

County of Santa Cruz

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS, OPEN SPACE & CULTURAL SERVICES

979 17TH AVENUE, SANTA CRUZ, CA 95062 (831) 454-7901 FAX: (831) 454-7940 TDD: (831) 454-7978

JEFF GAFFNEY DIRECTOR

ARTS COMMISSION - AGENDA

Monday, January 22, 2024 4:30 p.m. Regular Meeting Simpkins Family Swim Center 979 17th Avenue Santa Cruz, CA 95062

- I. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL
- II. AGENDA MODIFICATIONS OR APPROVAL
- III. ORAL COMMUNICATIONS: Any person may address the Commission during its Oral Communication period. Speakers must not exceed two (2) minutes in length, or the time limit established by the Chair, and individuals may speak only once during Oral Communications. All Oral Communication must be directed to an item listed on today's Consent Agenda, yet to be heard on Regular Agenda, or a topic not on the agenda that is within the jurisdiction of the Commission. Commission members will not take actions or respond immediately to any Oral communication presented regarding topics not on the agenda but may choose to follow up later, either individually or on a subsequent Commission Agenda. Oral communications will normally be received by the Commission for a period not to exceed thirty (30) minutes. If, at the end of this period, additional persons wish to address the Commission, the Oral Communication period may be continued to the last item on the agenda.
- IV. CONSENT AGENDA
- V. DIRECTOR'S REPORT
- VI. STAFF REPORT
- VII. REGULAR AGENDA
 - A. Information/Discussion Items
 - Public Art in Private Development Projects Presentation from Nick Calubaquib, Director of Parks and Community Services - City of Watsonville
 - 2. Youth into the Arts Discuss potential funding sources, form subcommittee
 - 3. County Art Collection (includes public artworks) process, potential funding sources for survey of condition, repair and restoration
 - **B.** Action Items
- VIII. AGENDA / MEETING FOR: March 4, 2024 4:30 PM
- IX. ADJOURNMENT



County of Santa Cruz

PARKS, OPEN SPACE & CULTURAL SERVICES

979 17TH AVENUE, SANTA CRUZ, CA 95062 (831) 454-7901 FAX: (831) 454-7940 TDD: (831) 454-7978

JEFF GAFFNEY DIRECTOR OF PARKS

ARTS COMMISSION MINUTES December 4, 2023, 3:00 p.m. – 979 17th Ave., Santa Cruz



I. Called to order at 3:07 p.m. Pro

Present: Leahy, Niven, Phillips, Stabile, Kroslowitz, Singer Absent/Excused: Stabile; Absent/Unexcused: Borges Vacant seats - 2

Staff: Kathy DeWild, Jesse Williams, Rebecca Hurley

II. Approved Agenda - Motion/Second: Leahy/ Kroslowitz

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 2

III. Oral Communications - None

VI. Approved Consent Agenda - Motion/Second: Leahy/Singer

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 2

V. & VI. Director & Staff reports

VII. Regular Agenda

A. Informational Items

1. Arts & Economic Prosperity Report presented by Jim Brown, Arts Council Director

2. Commissioners were provided a copy of the commission 2022 and 2023 Arts Commission attendance.

3. Commissioners discussed how to proceed with acknowledgment of Tammi Brown as Artist of the Year 2024, considering her recent health issues. Commissioners determined the Award will be announced and a Profile Performance event implemented when Ms. Brown is ready to do.

4. Commissioner Singer presented his ideas regarding youth and the arts. After much discussion, the commission will further explore ways to bring arts programs to youth, especially underserved youth, at the next meeting of the commission. A subcommittee on this topic may be convened.

B. Action Items

 Approved selection panel's recommendation of Mary Tataro as public artist for the Ben Lomond Transfer Station, and will recommend the Board of Supervisors approve her proposal and agreement with the County.

Motion/Second: Miranda/Singer

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 2

2. Commission reviewed and approved the 2024/25 Public Art Plan

Motion/Second: Leahy/Kroslowitz

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 2 3. Commission reviewed and approved the 2024 Arts Commission meeting schedule.

Motion/Second: Phillips/Leahy

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 2

- **4.** Commission reviewed the draft Spotlight Award nomination information and award criteria for artists. The draft language provided in the agenda packet was approved with the following amendments to page 18:
 - a. Switch bullet points 1 and 2, under "Eligibility" header.
 - b. Update bullet new bullet point 2 to read: Artist must be nominated by a resident of Santa Cruz County, or an artist may nominate themselves.

Motion/Second: Leahy/Miranda

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 2

5. Appointed Commission Chair Niven to serve on the Government Ctr. Exhibits Panel.

Motion/Second: Phillips/Leahy

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 2

6. Appointed Commissioners Leahy and Singer to serve on the Floral Park public art panel.

Motion/Second: Kroslowitz/Phillips

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 2

7. Appointed Commissioners Kroslowitz and Phillips to serve on the Hidden Beach public art panel.

Motion/Second: Miranda/Leahy

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 2

8. Commission discussed the Percent for Arts Program policy and procedures. The commission voted to form a subcommittee that includes five commissioners (Stabile, Miranda, Kroslowitz, Leahy, and Niven). The subcommittee is tasked with reviewing the current policy and procedures, and bringing suggested updates to the whole commission for review at the March 4 meeting.

Motion/Second: Phillips/Leahy

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 2

VIII. Next meeting date: January 22, 2024 – 4:30-6:00 PM. Agenda items may include:

Consider nominee for the Eloise Pickard Smith Award

County public art collection survey Public art in private development

Youth and arts – next steps, potential funding, and formation of a subcommittee

IX. Adjournment – 5:45 PM

Motion/Second: Kroslowitz/Phillips

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 2 I would like to recommend Earleen Overend for the Eloise Pickard Smith Award – to be presented in 2025 Charlie Singer

Earleen Overend - Bio

Cabrillo Music Festival

Administrative Director — 1973-74

Board Member — 1974 - 1983

Vice President for Publicity and Promotion

Vice President for Development

Chair of 29th anniversary endowment drive

President — 1978-80

Board Member — 2007 - 2015

Fund Development Chair 2010 - 2015

Life Member — 2016 to present

Housed guest artist or musician almost every year since 1973

Donor every year since 1973

Season Ticket Holder since 1973

Museum of Art & History (MAH)
Board Member — 1984 - 1990
Vice President for Development
President — 1988 - 1990
Campaign Director for McPherson Center
Donor almost every year since 1984

Jewel Theatre

Board Member — 2005 to present Vice President for most of those years Donor every year since 2005

Arts Council Santa Cruz County

Member of planning committee when Council was formed Board Member — 6 years
Vice President for Development
Co-chair of committee to search for performing arts facility
Co-chair of first Open Studio
Donor

Also:

Served on the County Arts Commission and the County Women's Commission Served on the Cabrillo College Foundation Board for 2 terms (2002 - 2009). One of the main committees at the College was co-chairing the Women's Educational Success Committee. In addition, she has donated to the President's Circle at Cabrillo College since 2002.