

**County of Santa Cruz** 

# PARKS, OPEN SPACE & CULTURAL SERVICES

979 17<sup>TH</sup> AVENUE, SANTA CRUZ, CA 95062 (831) 454-7901 FAX: (831) 454-7940 TDD: (831) 454-7978

JEFF GAFFNEY DIRECTOR OF PARKS

I.

## ARTS COMMISSION MINUTES December 4, 2023, 3:00 p.m. – 979 17<sup>th</sup> Ave., Santa Cruz

- Called to order at 3:07 p.m. Present: Leahy, Niven, Phillips, Stabile, Kroslowitz, Singer Absent/Excused: Stabile; Absent/Unexcused: Borges Vacant seats - 2 Staff: Kathy DeWild, Jesse Williams, Rebecca Hurley
- II. Approved Agenda Motion/Second: Leahy/ Kroslowitz AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 2
- III. Oral Communications None
- VI. Approved Consent Agenda Motion/Second: Leahy/Singer
  - AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 2
- V. & VI. Director & Staff reports

### VII. Regular Agenda

#### A. Informational Items

- 1. Arts & Economic Prosperity Report presented by Jim Brown, Arts Council Director
- 2. Commissioners were provided a copy of the commission 2022 and 2023 Arts Commission attendance.
- Commissioners discussed how to proceed with acknowledgment of Tammi Brown as Artist of the Year 2024, considering her recent health issues. Commissioners determined the Award will be announced and a Profile Performance event implemented when Ms. Brown is ready to do.
- 4. Commissioner Singer presented his ideas regarding youth and the arts. After much discussion, the commission will further explore ways to bring arts programs to youth, especially underserved youth, at the next meeting of the commission. A subcommittee on this topic may be convened.

### **B.** Action Items

1. Approved selection panel's recommendation of Mary Tataro as public artist for the Ben Lomond Transfer Station, and will recommend the Board of Supervisors approve her proposal and agreement with the County.

Motion/Second: Miranda/Singer

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 2

2. Commission reviewed and approved the 2024/25 Public Art Plan

Motion/Second: Leahy/Kroslowitz AYES: 6

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 2 3. Commission reviewed and approved the 2024 Arts Commission meeting schedule.

Motion/Second: Phillips/Leahy

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 2

- 4. Commission reviewed the draft Spotlight Award nomination information and award criteria for artists. The draft language provided in the agenda packet was approved with the following amendments to page 18:
  - a. Switch bullet points 1 and 2, under "Eligibility" header.
  - Update bullet new bullet point 2 to read: Artist must be nominated by a resident of Santa Cruz b. County, or an artist may nominate themselves.

Motion/Second: Leahy/Miranda

2

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0

ABSENT:

5. Appointed Commission Chair Niven to serve on the Government Ctr. Exhibits Panel. Motion/Second: Phillips/Leahy

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 0 ABSTAIN: 2

ABSENT:

**6.** Appointed Commissioners Leahy and Singer to serve on the Floral Park public art panel. Motion/Second: Kroslowitz/Phillips

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 2 ABSENT:

7. Appointed Commissioners Kroslowitz and Phillips to serve on the Hidden Beach public art panel. Motion/Second: Miranda/Leahv

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 0 ABSTAIN: 2 ABSENT:

8. Commission discussed the Percent for Arts Program policy and procedures. The commission voted to form a subcommittee that includes five commissioners (Stabile, Miranda, Kroslowitz, Leahy, and Niven). The subcommittee is tasked with reviewing the current policy and procedures, and bringing suggested updates to the whole commission for review at the March 4 meeting.

Motion/Second: Phillips/Leahy

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 2

VIII. Next meeting date: January 22, 2024 – 4:30-6:00 PM. Agenda items may include: Consider nominee for the Eloise Pickard Smith Award County public art collection survey Public art in private development Youth and arts – next steps, potential funding, and formation of a subcommittee

IX. Adjournment – 5:45 PM Motion/Second: Kroslowitz/Phillips AYES: 6 0 NOES: ABSTAIN: 0 2 ABSENT: