

# County of Santa Cruz

### PARKS, OPEN SPACE & CULTURAL SERVICES

JEFF GAFFNEY
DIRECTOR OF PARKS

979 17<sup>TH</sup> AVENUE, SANTA CRUZ, CA 95062 (831) 454-7901 FAX: (831) 454-7940 TDD: (831) 454-7978

## ARTS COMMISSION MINUTES - APPROVED May 1, 2023, 5:00 p.m. – 979 17<sup>th</sup> Ave., Santa Cruz

I. Called to order at 4:37 p.m. Present: Kilian, Leahy, Niven, Woods, Phillips, Stabile

Absent/Excused: Gardner Vacant seats - 3

Staff: Rebecca Hurley, Jesse Williams, Kathy DeWild

II. Approved Agenda - Motion/Second: Killian/Stabile

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 1

III. Oral Communications - None

IV. Oaths of office administered

V. Approved Consent Agenda - Motion/Second: Phillips/Woods

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 1

### VI & VII. Director & Staff reports

### VIII. Regular Agenda

 Approved selection panel's recommendation of Bruce Harman as public artist for the Green Valley MUP project

Motion/Second: Stabile/Killian

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 1

2. Approved selection of Spotlight Award recipients for 2023

Motion/Second: Leahy/Stabile

AYES: 5 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 1 ABSENT: 1

**3.** Selected Margaret Niven to serve as commission Chair, and Taj Leahy to serve as Vice-Chair, for a term that begins 7-1-23 and ending 6-30-24.

Motion/Second: Phillips/Stabile

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 1 4. Appointed Commissioners Leahy and Stabile to serve on the Sobering Center public art panel

Motion/Second: Killian/Phillips

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 1

**5.** Appointed Commissioner Phillips to serve on the Willowbrook public art panel

Motion/Second: Stabile/Woods

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 1

6. Appointed Commissioner Leahy to serve on the Juvenile Hall public art panel

Motion/Second: Phillips/Killian

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 1

7. Appointed Commissioner Woods to serve on the Westridge public art panel

Motion/Second: Leahy/Stabile

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 1

IX. Next meeting date: July 21, 2023 – 4:30-6:00 PM. Agenda items include:

Refine Spotlight Award criteria

Annual reports from Arts Council and Museum of Art & History

Eloise Pickard Smith Award

Appoint panelists for Ben Lomond Transfer Station public art project

X. Adjournment – 6:21 PM

Motion/Second: Killian/Woods

AYES: 6 NOES: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 1